Your Town. Your Voice.
Local Business Search

Ian Rolland, late Fort Wayne attorney to be inducted into Indiana Conservation Hall of Fame

More Information

The other inductees

Along with Ian Rolland and the late Louis H. Dunten of Fort Wayne, the following people are being inducted Oct. 17 into the Indiana Conservation Hall of Fame:

* Durward Allen (1910-1997) was a wildlife research biologist and Purdue University professor who launched the study of wolf-moose interplay at Isle Royale National Park in 1958.

*William "Bill" Barnes (1908-2007) had a 37-year career with the Indiana DNR and its predecessor, the Department of Conservation. He became the first director of DNR Nature Preserves in 1967 and dedicated 44 nature preserves over the next 10 years.

*Richard Ford has helped in his hometown of Wabash by renovating the Dr. James Ford Historic Home, Charley Creek Inn, Charley Creek Gardens and converting an abandoned storefront in downtown into the new home of the Wabash County Historical Museum. He is former chair of the National Trust for Historic Preservation and recipient of the Cook Cup, presented by Indiana Historic Landmarks for dedication to historic preservation.

*David Starr Jordan (1851-1931) was an educator, researcher, naturalist, university administrator, peace activist and philosopher. He became the youngest president of Indiana University in 1885. His research on fish described and named nearly 1,000 species and formed the basis for “Fishes of North and Middle America,” one of 50 books he authored on various topics. Jordan left IU in 1891 to become president of Stanford University. He was a charter member of the Sierra Club and a member of that group's board of directors for 12 years.

*Kenn Kaufman began bird watching at age 6 in South Bend. His family later moved to Kansas, where he left high school at age 16 to hitchhike across North America on a quest to see birds. Kaufman also authored “The Peterson Guide to Advanced Birding” and later launched his own guidebook series.

*"Bayou" Bill Scifres (1925-2009), who wrote the “Lines and Shots” outdoor column, grew up near the Muscatatuck River in southeastern Indiana. Scifres joined the Star in 1953, and wrote thousands of outdoor columns and stories during the next 45 years. Among other awards, he was elected president of the Hoosier Outdoor Writers organization an unprecedented six times.

Friday, September 2, 2011 - 10:47 am

Ian Rolland, former Lincoln Financial CEO, will be among eight people inducted Oct. 17 into the Indiana Conservation Hall of Fame, the Indiana Department of Natural Resources announced.

A deceased Fort Wayne attorney, Louis H. Dunten (1889-1976), also will be inducted posthumously.

The induction luncheon will be noon-1:30 p.m. at the Indiana State Museum in Indianapolis. The event is open to the public; tickets are $50 and can be purchased by calling 1-317-233-1002.

The Indiana Conservation Hall of Fame is a collaborative effort of the Indiana DNR and Indiana Natural Resources Foundation (NRF).

Rolland has been active in supporting land conservation statewide through the NRF, Indiana Heritage Trust and The Nature Conservancy, the news release said. He also had a key role in arranging for artifacts and archives from the former Lincoln Museum in Fort Wayne to go to the Allen County Public Library and Indiana State Museum.

“I was very surprised,” the news release quoted Rolland as saying of his Hall of Fame induction. “It's certainly flattering. It's an important honor, and there are a lot of people out there that I'm sure deserve to be recognized, so it's flattering to be inducted.”

Dunten joined the Izaak Walton League of America in its early years in the 1920s and became a state and national figure during more than 50 years with the conservation organization, the news release said. He served on the first board of directors of the National Wildlife Federation and was involved in Izaak Walton League efforts to create Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and National Elk Refuge in Jackson, Wyo.

The list of new inductees also includes Richard Ford of Wabash and Kenn Kaufman of Rocky Ridge, Ohio. The other four inductees are deceased: Durward Allen, William “Bill” Barnes, David Starr Jordan and “Bayou” Bill Scifres.

Previous Hall of Fame inductees have included Tom (1923-2004) and Jane (1929-2003) Dustin, founders of ACRES Land Trust and advocates for the Clean Water Act and federal wilderness protection; Col. Richard Lieber, father of the Indiana state parks system; Charles C. Deam, Indiana's first state forester; Gene Stratton-Porter, a noted Hoosier author and naturalist; and U.S. President Benjamin Harrison, a former Indiana resident.