• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Friday, September 22, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

School news

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 12:01 am
•Butler University, Indianapolis, announced Jake Millett of Auburn, Emily Salzmann of Fort Wayne and Hannah Olinger of LaOtto are the newest area members of its Legacy generation. A legacy includes anyone whose parents, grandparents, siblings, aunts, uncles or cousins attended the university.•Indiana Tech welcomed new full-time faculty members for the 2012-13 academic year: Lisa R. Brown, assistant professor of accounting and finance; Kelly J. Fast, assistant professor of health information technology and director of the health information technology program; Les A. Grundman, associate professor of mechanical engineering; Staci R. Lugar Brettin, assistant professor of marketing and management; John J. Minnich, assistant professor of accounting; Jenifer L. Schutte, assistant professor of psychology; and Tammy M. Taylor, associate professor of education.

•Huntington University was listed among the top colleges in the region by U.S. News & World Report, ranking third among Indiana's elite colleges and 13th among all Midwest colleges in the 2013 edition of the magazine's guide to the nation's best colleges.

•The University of Saint Francis has launched its annual Feed the Fort food drive. Food collection barrels will be placed in buildings all across campus through Nov. 19. Check and cash donations should be sent to Colleen Huddleson, University of Saint Francis School of Creative Arts, 2701 Spring St., Fort Wayne IN 46808. Checks can be made payable to: Community Harvest Food Bank, St. Mary's Soup Kitchen or Associated Churches.

Also, the university's ceramics students will create bowls for the soup and bowl fundraiser, which raises funds for Interfaith Hospitality Network. Participating churches will offer a meal of soup and bread Oct. 21, Oct. 28, Nov. 4 and Nov. 11 for $10 per person, with no charge for children under age 5. The bowls will be sold for minimum $5 donations.

•Lindsay Siewert and Jessica Wagel, both of Huntington, star in Huntington University's play, “Doubt.”

•Goshen College placed 140th out of 239 national liberal arts colleges in the 2013 “Best Colleges” rankings by U.S. News & World Report.

•Fort Wayne Elks Lodge 155 announced the Elks National Foundation's Most Valuable Student Scholarship contest will award $2.296 million. The foundation will award 18 top winners scholarships ranging from $8,000-$60,000. The remaining 482 runners-up will receive $4,000 scholarships. Applicants do not need to be related to a member of the Elks. Applications are available at local high schools and at www.elks.org/enf/scholars. Deadline is Dec. 7.

•Fort Wayne resident Baleigh Hinrichsen was selected to be a member of Harding University's children's theatre troupe Pied Pipers for the 2012-13 school year. Harding University is located in Searcy, Ark.

•University of Saint Francis will host Zoo Day for alumni and their families 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Oct. 6 at the Fort Wayne Children's Zoo. The university will have lunch and activities 11 a.m.-1 p.m. on the Foellinger Outdoor Theatre lawn. Cost is $10.50 for adults, $8 for seniors, $6 for ages 2-14 and free under age 2. Tickets must be obtained through the University of Saint Francis and cannot be purchased at the zoo. Call 399-8037.

•The Horatio Alger Association awarded the 2012 Dennis R. Washington Achievement Scholarship to 2005 Horatio Alger National Scholar Lowell D. Caulder of Fort Wayne. The scholarship program provides financial assistance to Horatio Alger National and State Scholars who are interested in pursuing graduate, medical or law degrees.•Bishop Luers High School announced the recipients of the Saint Mother Theodore Guerin Award: James Franke, St. John the Baptist parish; Kayleigh Hutson and Wesley Hutson, St. Therese parish; Joseph Lewis, Wings of Deliverance; Corinne Zay, SS. Peter/Paul parish, Huntington; and Criselda Huerta, St. Patrick parish.

•Bishop Luers High School announced Kayleigh Hutson received the Philip and Katherine Bail Personal Achievement Scholarship, worth $5,000.

•New Tech Academy at Wayne High School and Northcrest Elementary School were among the 10 winners of the state's Constitution Day contest.

•The Bishop Luers Athletic Booster Club will host a men's smoker Oct. 6 at the school, 333 E. Paulding Road. $25 a person. Must be 21 to attend.

•The annual Youth Power and Hope Awards contest is open to Indiana fifth- through eighth-graders who reside within the service territory of an electric cooperative. Entrants must complete an entry form, submit an essay regarding community service, provide examples of how they have been involved in their local community and include a letter of reference from a trusted adult. Five winners will be chosen from all entrants to attend a special reception featuring Bleill at the Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives' annual meeting on Dec. 4 in Indianapolis. They will be recognized during a ceremony at the annual meeting and have their entry essays published in Electric Consumer, among other highlights. An entry form and contest details can be found at www.electricconsumer.org. Deadline is Oct. 5.


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus