Your Town. Your Voice.
Local Business Search

School news

Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 12:01 am


•Anna Eberle of Fort Wayne has been accepted to attend Union College, Barbourville, Ky., for the fall semester of 2013.

•University of Saint Francis student Jasmine M. Bejar of Whiting; Huntington University student Christian Cunkle from Angola; Indiana Tech student Kirstie Pieper; and Grace College student Sarah Doty from Winamac were among 31 students from Indiana's independent colleges and universities honored Nov. 10 at the “Realizing the Dream” banquet. Now sophomores, the students are the first in their families to go to college, have been selected by their colleges for outstanding achievement in the freshman year, and are now advancing toward completing their bachelor's degrees.

•Shenitria Myles of Fort Wayne, a Xavier University student, received a $2.500 Anheuser-Bush scholarship through United Negro College Fund.

•The following students represented Huntington University at the Indiana chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing annual competition Nov. 3 at Indiana Wesleyan University: Brittany Blazier of Ossian; Kati Frankle, Megan Ness, Audra Rittenhouse, Preston Shafer and Holly Stanley of Huntington; and Jacob Smith of Berne.

•Indiana Tech's admissions office will host a special visit day 10 a.m.-1 p.m. Nov. 30 at the campus, 1600 E. Washington Blvd., for prospective students interested in engineering or computer science programs. Students will experience live demonstrations of engineering equipment, participate in hands-on mini projects, interact with Indiana Tech professors, tour the campus and learn about the admissions process. For more information or to register for the event, call 1-800-937-2448, Ext. 3103, or visit


•Fort Wayne Community Schools launched a school choice survey to gather feedback from parents regarding awareness of school choice options and the priority given to school environment, school success and the availability of student support services. The survey is accessible through a link on the YourVoice section of the District's website at The survey closes Nov. 30.

•IPFW announced Taylor James, a senior at Carroll High School, and Jacqueline Smith, a senior at Homestead High School, have accepted IPFW Chancellor's Distinguished Scholarships. James plans to major in biology in the pre-med program, while Smith will study engineering when they begin their collegiate careers next fall. The Chancellor's Distinguished Scholarship provides full tuition and student fees and is renewable for up to four years.

•Bishop Luers High School will administer the Henry-Keefer Merit Scholarship Exam to eighth-grade students interested in competing for a total of $10,000 dollars in scholarship money to attend Bishop Luers. Registration cost is $10. Testing begins at 7:45 a.m. Dec. 8 at 333 E. Paulding Road. Testing will end at 11:30 a.m.

Email School News to; fax: 461-8817; mail to The News-Sentinel/Neighbors, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne IN 46802.