Your Town. Your Voice.
Local Business Search

INTERACTIVE MAP: Mr. Football and Player of the Year winners throughout the years

Thursday, December 6, 2012 - 1:16 pm

Bishop Luers senior linebacker and running back Jaylon Smith won the Indiana Mr. Football award Thursday after leading the Knights to their fourth consecutive state championship this season. The Notre Dame recruit winning this award was not only rare because he is primarily a defensive player, but also because of the geography as he became the first player from Northeast Indiana to earn Mr. Football honors.

Check out this News-Sentinel interactive map that breaks down all of the Indiana Mr. Football and Indiana Player of the Year winners and what regions in the state have produced the most award winners.

The color markers on the map indicate the following: red for Player of the Year winners, blue for Indiana Mr. Football winners and green for schools that produce both Player of the Year and Indiana Mr. Football winners. Click on each marker to get information on a school's titles and use the map's zoom function to get a closer look at different regions around the state.

Indiana Mr. Football and Player of the Year winners