• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Thursday, September 21, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

Indiana Tech sweeps WHAC track titles

Dontaey Paige
Dontaey Paige
Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press

Victories are 'bittersweet' following injury to Tatum

Monday, February 18, 2013 12:01 am
Indiana Tech ran away with the 2013 WHAC Indoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday at Trine University.The women's team came away with its third straight indoor championship, while the men took home the first title in program history.

The Warriors scored 198 points on both the men's and women's side, marking the first time in at least six years that the same school has won both the men's and women's championship at the same meet.

“I am so incredibly proud of this team's effort,” Warrior coach Scott Edgar said in a release. “These performances came from months of hard work and dedication both to track and their academics. We have truly become a well-rounded team with efforts from all of the event areas. To me this is the best track conference top to bottom in the NAIA and to win this conference really takes an amazing effort.”

Siena Heights University, last year's men's indoor champions, finished in second place with 132.5 points and Aquinas College followed with 95.5. The Cornerstone University women took second with 147 points and Siena Heights came in third with 89.

In the women's meet, Indiana Tech claimed the top nine places in the 60-meter dash, with Adella King breaking her own school record in 7.33.

Jewel Thomas (7.55), Malika Rashid (7.71), Shayla France (7.71), and Tasha Allen (7.79) also ran season-best times.

The men had just as much success taking the top three spots, as well as fifth place in the event.

Former Heritage High School standout Dontaey Paige won the race with a time of 6.82, while John Broaden, David Army, and Darryl Marlow each ran lifetime-best times.

The Warriors also swept the women's 200-meter dash with the top eight performances.

King earned her second victory of the night, as she ran a lifetime-best time, while Zalika Dixon, Thomas, and France also fared well.

The men finished in second through sixth place in the 200-meter event, led by Broaden with a time of 21.99.

Wrapping up their dominance in the sprints, Indiana Tech took the top five spots in the 400-meter dash, led by Dixon with a time of 57.55.

Fort Wayne-native Austen Barnes and Dareyus Person placed fourth and fifth, respectively, in the men's race.

In the 600-meter race, Jasmine Lott placed fifth for the women, while Brandon Reynard finished fourth and Deshawn Marshall sixth for the men.

Nick Radionoff ran away with the men's 800-meter run with a time of 1:57.69, while Cherie Gaines was the top female finisher, landing in fourth place.

In the 1,000-meter run, Concordia Lutheran High School graduate Matt Adair finished third to pace the Warriors, while Matt Rouwhorst placed fifth.

Gaines, Adair, and Drew Mueller each added points for Indiana Tech in the one-mile event.

Aaron Belcher finished runner-up in the men's 5,000-meter run, while Becca Lamb placed fourth in the women's 5k.

The Warriors swept both the men's and women's 1,600-meter relays in meet record times.

Barnes, Person, Robert Rose and Harris Edwards III teamed for the men's title, while the women's team consisted of Kirsten Flake, Shayne Armbrister, former South Side High School standout Chauntiel Smith and King.

The Warriors claimed the women's Distance Medley Relay event, as Gaines, Nazirah Jones, Emily Streahle and Brenna Conger won the race.

In the men's event, the Warriors placed second with the team of Nick Radionoff, Reynard, Columbia City High School alumni Seth Spangler and Brenden Zoltek.

In the men's shot put, Aaron Baker threw a season-best of 15.36 meters to take second place, while two freshmen would have huge performances to grab fifth and sixth.

Tim Colbert hit a mark of 14.29 meters and Northrop grad Trevor Wright was right behind at 14.24 meters.

In the women's event, Erica Schwering finished sixth with a throw of 11.61 meters.

Baker would also take second place in the weight throw after a toss of 16.93 meters.

In the women's pole vault competition, Warrior freshman Jeslyn Zimmerly earned a third place finish after hitting a mark of 3.43 meters.

In the triple jump, former Elmhurst High School standout Stacia Murray defended her WHAC title with a leap of 11.47 meters, while Jones, Abigail Torian, and Alea Milligan scored points for the Warriors.

In the men's event, Darryl Marlow had a season-best performance to come away with the men's title hitting 14.88 meters. TJ Williams placed third and Isaiah Lintz fifth.

Marlow would also take the men's long jump title with a distance of 7.36 meters, while Lintz would grab fifth.

Former Elmhurst High School athlete Cora Tatum won the women's event with a lifetime-best jump of 5.72 meters, while Ashley Watley and Stacia Murray earned top six positions for the Warriors.

Unfortunately, Cora Tatum suffered a season-ending injury on her final jump attempt, which would have ranked her fifth nationally.

“The meet was bittersweet for me with Cora's injury,” Edgar said. “Cora had done everything possible to improve herself and put herself in position for the effort she had tonight and the massive PR she had earlier in the meet. This injury will not define her and she will come back a stronger person for it. We know Cora will find a way to recover and be a positive influence on this team. She is a great leader, teammate, and person.”

Indiana Tech will travel to Geneva, Ohio on Feb. 28 for the NAIA Indoor National Championships.

The Warriors have qualified over 50 athletes, by far the most in program history.

Indiana Tech finished sixth in the women's competition a year ago (indoors), while the men took fifth place (outdoors).


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus