• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Saturday, September 23, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

IPFW duo honored by conference

Frank Gaines
Frank Gaines

More Information


For more on college basketball, follow Tom Davis via Twitter at Tom101010.
Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press

Gaines repeats as first team selection

Thursday, March 07, 2013 06:30 pm
There is no hotter men’s basketball team in the Summit League heading into the conference tournament this weekend than IPFW, and on Thursday, two reasons for the Mastodons’ recent success were recognized by the league.Senior forward Frank Gaines was named to the Summit League All-First Team, while junior forward Luis Jacobo was an honorable mention selection.

“Frank has gotten better as the year has gone on,” IPFW coach Tony Jasick said. “He’s playing his best basketball right now and has been one of our better defenders over the last few weeks. He’s had a major impact at both ends in why we are winning.”

The Mastodons (15-16) have won five consecutive games, which matches the longest stretch in Jasick’s two-years in leading the program.

Gaines has led the Mastodons’ in scoring this season (19.5 points per game) and recently became the leading scorer in program history.

“Frank has been pretty efficient,” Jasick said. “It’s a well-deserved honor.”

In the case of Jacobo, he too has made steady progress according to the coach.

“There were some areas where Luis needed to improve when he got here,” Jasick said. “He’s done exactly what we’ve asked and he’s become more accountable defensively.”

After transferring from College of Central Florida last summer, the 6-foot-5 athlete has averaged over 11 points per game and nearly four rebounds per game. His 64 3-pointers and 38.1 percent shooting from long range lead IPFW.

“Luis tried to do too much with the ball early on,” Jasick said. “Now he’s become more effective in scoring the ball and getting in better position (offensively).”

Gaines is now a two-time selection to the first team, and the only Mastodon to earn the honor.

The league named South Dakota State senior Nate Wolters as its Player of the Year, while Oakland’s Duke Monday (Newcomer of the Year), and Western Illinois’ Terell Parks (Defensive Player of the Year) and Jim Molinari (Coach of the Year), and North Dakota State’s Mike Felt (Sixth Man of the Year) were also honored.

IPFW will open post-season play against Oakland at the Summit League Tournament on Sunday at 7 p.m.FIRST TEAM

Travis Bader, Oakland G Jr.

Marshall Bjorklund, North Dakota State F Jr.

Ceola Clark III, Western Illinois G Sr.

Frank Gaines, Fort Wayne G Sr.

Terell Parks, Western Illinois F/C Sr.

Nate Wolters, South Dakota State G Sr.


Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State G So.

Taylor Braun, North Dakota State G Jr.

Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State F So.

Duke Mondy, Oakland G Jr.

Justin Simmons, Omaha G Jr.


Brandon Bos, South Dakota G So.

Tony Fiegen, South Dakota State F Sr.

Juevol Myles, South Dakota G Sr.

Corey Petros, Oakland C So.

Drew Valentine, Oakland F Sr.


Luis Jacobo, Fort Wayne F Jr.

Adam Link, Western Illinois F Jr.

Duke Mondy, Oakland G Jr.

Juevol Myles, South Dakota G Sr.

Justin Simmons, Omaha G Jr.


Nate Wolters, South Dakota State


Duke Mondy, Oakland


Terell Parks, Western Illinois


Mike Felt, North Dakota State


Jim Molinari, Western Illinois

More Information


For more on college basketball, follow Tom Davis via Twitter at Tom101010.


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus