Your Town. Your Voice.
Local Business Search

Judge Sims retires Friday; 3 names going to Gov. Pence for Allen Superior Court vacancy

Friday, April 26, 2013 - 1:02 pm

The Allen Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced three finalists to fill the upcoming vacancy in Allen Superior Court.

The commission selected Magistrate Craig Bobay; Magistrate Jennifer DeGroote and Michael Michmerhuizen after interviewing them and five other candidates. Their names will be submitted to Gov. Mike Pence, who has 60 days to name someone. If he does not, the chief justice of Indiana will make the appointment from the list of nominees.

They are vying for the spot left by Allen County Judge Daniel Heath, who is transferring from the Civil Division to the Family Relations Division. Heath will take the place of retiring Judge Stephen Sims, whose last day is Friday.

The nominating commission was established by the Indiana General Assembly in 1983. It consists of Edward Beck, James O'Connor Jr., Suzan Rutz, Angela J. Moellering, Mark W. Terrell and Jonathan C. Ray and is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David.