• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
Tuesday September 1, 2015
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Local Business Search

Schools news

Wednesday, September 25, 2013 - 12:01 am


•Marquette University senior Spencer Bonahoom is one of 20 students who served as an orientation team leader at the “First Things First” orientation. Bonahoom is a Fort Wayne native.

•IPFW was awarded a 2014 Military Friendly Schools designation by Victory Media, the media entity for military personnel transitioning into civilian life. The designation means IPFW is in the top 20 percent of colleges, universities and trade schools in the country that service America's military service members, veterans and spouses as students and ensure their success on campus.

Indiana Tech received the designation for the third year in a row.

•Brad Rumancik of Fort Wayne took part in a White Coat Ceremony at St. Louis College of Pharmacy, symbolizing the first step in becoming a pharmacist. The white coat is a symbol of commitment to professionalism.

•Indiana Tech admissions office will host an academic exploration day 9 a.m.-1 p.m. Oct. 5 at 1600 E. Washington Blvd. Registration: www.IndianaTech.edu/events or call 1-800-937-2448, Ext. 3103.

•Goshen College placed 141st out of 251 national liberal arts colleges in the 2014 “Best Colleges” rankings by U.S. News & World Report. High school guidance counselors ranked the college 124th for best liberal arts colleges.

•Ivy Tech Community College Northeast announced Kelli Kreider as the college's new program chair of the Agriculture department.

•Brittany Folk and Jordan Raugh, both of Bluffton, earned a faculty scholarship at Muskingum University, New Concord, Ohio.


•National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of local semifinalists in the 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program: Isaiah R. Mortorff, Angola High School; William McNabb, Ryan J. Paulsen and Tan N. Phan, all of Canterbury High School; Abby E. Lemert, Jessica M. Lineman and Audrey C. Roth, all of Carroll High School; June Kreml, Samantha M. Sutter and Ian A. Tinsley, all of Concordia Lutheran High School; Derek A. Gloudemans, Bishop Dwenger High School; Marielle L. Cabe, Natalie M. Hawken, Benjamin J. Landrigan and Erik A. Overdahl, all of Homestead High School; Paige M. Dempsey and Justin A. Stuckey, both of Leo Junior-Senior High School; Samuel C. Hagen, West Noble High School; Christopher P. Hastings and Zachary B. Stichter, both of Warsaw High School; John L. Foster and William G. Pierce, both of DeKalb High School.

•Homestead High School guidance counselor Amy Hamilton received the 2013 Yale Educator Award, sponsored by Yale University.

Email School News to neighbors@news-sentinel.com; fax: 461-8817; mail to The News-Sentinel/Neighbors, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne IN 46802.