• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
Wednesday September 2, 2015
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Local Business Search

Indiana Tech continues dominance on track

Warriors claim NAIA national titles

Monday, May 26, 2014 - 8:47 am

Indiana Tech continued its dominance on the national track and field stage Saturday, as the Warriors won both the women's and men's NAIA Division II national championships at Mickey Miller Blackwell Stadium in Gulf Shores, Ala.

In the women's meet, the championship came down to the final event, the mile relay, which the Warriors team of Chloe Brooks, Kirsten Flake, Tyra Cooper and Zalika Dixon won by six seconds in a time of 3:39.88.

That victory allowed Indiana Tech to grab the title by a mere point (102-101) over Oklahoma Baptist.

The Indiana Tech 400-meter and mile relay squads each defended their national championships, while Dixon also defended her title in the 400-meter hurdles.

The 400-meter relay of Brianna Woods, Shayla France, Jewel Thomas and Tia Cooper defeated Oklahoma Baptist with a time of 44.85.

Dixon won her 400-meter hurdles title by nearly a full second, finishing in 58.49.

Warrior coach Doug Edgar was named Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

In the men's meet, the Warriors won a national title for the third straight time, as theyalso claimed the 2014 indoor national championship earlier this spring.

Indiana Tech had four individual national champions, highlighted by a photo finish victory in the 100-meter race by Dontaey Paige. He won the race by a .004 second margin.

In the 400-meter event, Deshawn Marshall earned a title in a time of 47.06, after winning the same event indoors. Robert Rose took the 400-meter hurdles title, his first career individual title, while the 3,200-meter relay team also recorded a photo finish win.

Matt Adair got things started for that relay squad with Devon Marrow and Drew Mueller helping give John Hester a slight lead heading into the anchor leg. Hester was able to out-kick Justin Kent of British Columbia to win the event by .43 seconds with a time of 7:31.12.

Warrior coach Doug Edgar was named Coach of the Year for the second straight season and third time overall, winning the same award indoors.