Your Town. Your Voice.
Local Business Search

Uncharted territory – Purdue gets consecutive trips to IU

More Information


Follow Pete DiPrimio via Twitter at

Big Ten debuts 2014 football schedule

Friday, May 17, 2013 - 6:17 pm

Nothing like this has ever happened in the Old Oaken Bucket football series. In fact, it's never happened in the overall series, which began in 1891:

Purdue has to play at Indiana in consecutive seasons.

Welcome to the consequence of conference expansion, as the Big Ten adds Maryland and Rutgers to the 2014 schedule while debuting its new division alignment.

The Boilers will play at Memorial Stadium this season, and again in 2014.

Each team will play eight Big Ten games in 2014, a number that will increase to nine for the 2016 season.

The East Division will consist of IU, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers. The West Division will have Purdue, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern and Wisconsin.

Each team will play the other six schools in its division, plus two teams from the other division in 2014 and 2015. It will play three teams from the other division starting in 2016.

The Indiana-Purdue rivalry is the only one that is protected

For IU in 2014, it will host Maryland, Michigan State, Penn State and Purdue. It will travel to Iowa, Michigan, Rutgers and Ohio State. It also will have two byes.

For Purdue in 2014, it will host Iowa, Michigan State, Wisconsin and Northwestern. It will play at Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska and Indiana.

Iowa will play at Purdue in consecutive seasons in 2013 and 2014.