Two authors with Fort Wayne links win Glick Indiana Author Awards

Former Fort Wayne resident Kimberly Brubaker Bradley has been named winner of the National Author Award in the 2018 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. (Courtesy of Indianapolis Public Library Foundation)
Former Fort Wayne resident Deborah E. Kennedy has been named an Emerging Author Award finalist in the 2018 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. (Courtesy of Indianapolis Public Library Foundation)

Editor’s note: This story was updated to correct information about the Emerging Author Award finalists.

Two authors with Fort Wayne ties were among six writers with Indiana connections who were named winners or finalists in the 2018 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards.

• Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, a former Fort Wayne resident and author of books for young readers, was named the winner of the National Author Award, which includes a $10,000 award for her and a $2,500 gift to an Indiana library of her choice, an Indianapolis Public Library Foundation news release said.

The National Author Award winner must be a writer with Indiana ties whose work is known and read throughout the country, the news release said. National Author Award nominees are evaluated on their entire body of work.

• Deborah E. Kennedy, formerly of Fort Wayne, was named one of three Emerging Author Award finalists. The winner, who will be announced at the 10th annual Indiana Authors Award Dinner on Oct. 13 at the Central Library in Indianapolis, will receive a $5,000 award, the news release said. A $2,500 donation also will be made to an Indiana public library of her choice.

An Emerging Author Award nominee must have published no more than two books during her or his life, and the books must have been published within the past 10 years, the news release said.

The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation organizes the author awards program, which is funded by the Glick Fund.

Award nominations were open to any published writer who was born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at least five years, the news release said. A nine-member, statewide award panel selected the winners and finalists from the nominees.

Brubaker Bradley, who was born in Fort Wayne and now lives near Bristol, Tenn., is a Newbery Honor medalist whose 16 children’s books include the New York Times Best Sellers “The War That Saved My Life,” which reached No. 1, and “The War I Finally Won.” She also wrote the popular “Ruthie’s Gift.”

“Libraries were a huge part of my life,” Brubaker Bradley said in the news release. “When I was growing up, my mom and I went every week to the (Allen County Public Library’s) Georgetown branch library and sometimes made trips to the main library downtown, where I loved the enormous globe in the lobby. … My favorite part of this award is that it comes with a gift to my favorite Indiana library – Georgetown branch, here it comes!”

Kennedy, who recently graduated from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, was born in Fort Wayne and now lives in Forest Grove, Ore., the news release said. Her first novel is “Tornado Weather,” and she has had her writing published in Salon, Sou’wester, Third Coast Magazine, Los Angeles Review of Books, The Hairpin, The Establishment and North American Review.

No information was available about what Indiana library will receive the $2,500 donation that comes with her winning her award.

This is the second time in as many years that the Allen County Public Library (ACPL) received a donation through the Glick Indiana Authors Awards, said Stephanny Smith, the library system’s community engagement manager.

Last year, Kekla Magoon, who was born in Michigan but grew up in Fort Wayne, also was named the National Author Award winner. She directed the $2,500 library gift to ACPL’s Pontiac Branch, which used the money to buy children’s books, Smith said.

Including Brubaker Bradley’s donation, ACPL has been selected by Glick Award authors to receive a combined total of $10,000 since the awards program began, said Linda Jackson, who is coordinating publicity for the author awards.