• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Monday, September 25, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

School News

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 12:01 am


• National Merit Scholarship Corporation announces the 2017  National Merit $2,500 Indiana Scholarship winners. Local recipients are Waterloo: DeKalb High School, Aspen C. Bell,  probable career field, pharmacy. Fort Wayne:  Homestead High School, Samuel B. Dvorak, probable career field, finance and Canterbury School, Jonathan Z. Zhou, probable career field, undecided. 

• Ivy Tech Community College Northeast has announced the three finalists for its 2017 New Venture Competition. The competition's champion will receive at least $20,000 in start-up capital for presenting the best business plan for his or her small business. The finalists are: Kendall Riecken, business administration student, Company: KR Designs. Courtney Jagoda, building construction management student, Company: Caliber Contracting and Clayton Ostermeyer, business administration student, Company: The Vault. Finalists will present their business plans and community judges will vote on the champion at an awards dinner Sept 28. 

• Manchester University announced W. Thomas Smith has been selected as the new dean of pharmacy programs in the College of Pharmacy, Natural and Health Sciences.

• Kate Miller, a trust officer for STAR Financial Bank, will join the Development Committee of the Board at the University of Saint Francis as a director.


• Concordia Lutheran High School seniors were recently honored with department awards and scholarships during a special Senior Honors Evening held April 23. The following seniors were recognized: Valedictorian: Hannah Martin; Salutatorian: Derek Egolf. Herbert Birkman Senior Department Awards: Theology: Peter Morrison. English: Hannah Martin. Business: Kyla Macaraig. Computer Science: Sydney Kemme Nash. Family and Consumer Science: Kirsten Olsen. JROTC: Logan Devine. Mathematics: Derek Egolf. Science: Hannah Martin. World Languages: Charity Felton. Social Studies: Morgan Moloney. Instrumental Music: Grace Lunz. Vocal Music: Ethan Dillman: Visual Arts: Hannah Nack. and Media Arts. Emily Mix. Deca Emerging Leader Honor Award: Savannah Bassett, Ivoryona Dickey, Emily Lahey, Kyla Macaraig and Shelby Prows. AP Statistics Award: Noelle Turney. German Award: Ethan Dillman. Latin Award: Gabriel Kramer. Spanish Award: Hannah Martin. National Latin Exam: Gabriel Kramer (Summa cum Laude), Rachel Metzger, (Maxima cum Laude) and Jackson Wagner (Maxma cum Laude). Carl. F. Gallmeier Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Abigail Bentz and Martin Fischer Memorial Scholarship: Charity Felton. 

• Concordia Lutheran High School has named the following incoming freshmen as Concordia Scholars for the 2017-18 school year. Caleb Goodwin from St. Paul's Lutheran School, Madeline Tom from Holy Cross Lutheran School, and Mallory Hockemeyer from Emmanuel-St. Michael Lutheran School. The students received a $2,500 scholarship that renews automatically each year. 

• Believe in a Dream will hold its Seventh Annual Exploration of Music Through Orchestra, the largest joint concert for orchestral students in grades 5 through 12 in the state of Indiana, at 4 p.m. Sunday at Purdue University, 2101 Coliseum Blvd. E $10 adults, $8 seniors and students; tickets available at biadinc.com. 

• Lassus Brothers Handy Dandy is donating Dave Ramsey Solutions' Foundations in Personal Finance curriculum to Bishop Dwenger High School. Foundations in Personal Finance is the premier curriculum for teaching financial literacy to students.

• The Indiana Department of Education announced Cedarville Elementary School as one of Indiana's 2015-16 Four Star Schools. The Four Star Schools designation is designed by the Department to recognize the very best schools in Indiana.

• The United States Marine Corps announced Blake Rhymer of Heritage High School, Monroeville, was selected to participate in the 2017 Battles Won Academy July 13-17 in Washington, D.C. Rhymer was selected not only for his athletic performance but for outstanding character, academic excellence and community leadership that reflects the Marine Corps? values of honor, courage and commitment. The Battles Won Academy brings together approximately 100 of the country?s top student-leaders for a week in the nation?s capital and provides Marines with several opportunities to purposefully engage the student leaders and share leadership lessons that will enhance their future success.

• The Indiana State Teachers Association presented the Hoosier Educator of the Year Award to Carissa Richardson-Lahrman, a seventh-grade math, science and engineering technology teacher at Towles New Tech, for her excellence in teaching, advocacy for the profession, community engagement and leadership in professional development. 

Email School News to neighbors@news-sentinel.com; fax: 461-8817; mail to The News-Sentinel/Neighbors, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne IN 46802.


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus