School news

<center> College </center><br>

* Jan Gerardot has been elected to the University of Saint Francis board. She has served as director on the development committee of the University of Saint Francis board from 2004 until her election to the board in 2017 and also as an adviser for the physical therapy assistant program from its inception until 2016.

* A group of University of Saint Francis students recently presented their research in employee retention practices to executives from Carlex Glass Indiana, LLC, Auburn. This was part of their senior project and an element of the USF Keith Busse School of Business and Entrepreneurial Leadership’s Entrepreneurial Program with Integrated Cooperatives.

* United Negro College Fund Fort Wayne Leadership Council will hold its second annual Fort Wayne Mayor’s Breakfast at 8:30 a.m. June 27 at Ivy Tech Community College-Northeast, 3800 N. Anthony Blvd. Hosted by Mayor Henry, the event will be attended by business, civic and education leaders in support of UNCF’s work to provide students with resources to get to and through college. Keynote speaker will be Sherrod Woods. Tickets will be $35. For sponsorship information call MeKeeba Lomax at 317-283-3920 or email <br>

<center> Miscellaneous </center><br>

* The Indiana School Nutrition Association recently announced that Deborah Carper of Leo Jr. /Sr. High School has been awarded the Manager of the Year Award. She has more than 30 years in school food services.

* Concordia Lutheran High School earned top honors in the Junior Achievement Titan Tournament last month. The following teams earned a spot to compete at the regional tourney in Fort Wayne: Trust the Process: Ethan Dillman, senior; Justin Ehlers, junior and Koby Gibson, senior. Kratzman and the Cool Kids: Colin Harmeyer, senior; David Kratzman senior and Benjamin Loshe, junior. $Money Team$: Larson Ashford, Peter Morrison and Vershawn Starks, all seniors. The Oranges: Cam Frane, senior, Alec Stopher and Andrew Weidemeier.

* The following Concordia Lutheran High School alumni have been recognized for their service to their communities as well as their alma mater. Karol (Gill) Selle, 1963, teacher, educator and communicator with the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Don Luepke, 1961, retired Concordia teacher with the Distinguished Service Award and Martin Carbaugh, 1998, Indiana State Representative with the Neale M. Shank Award.

* Memorial Park student Tyler Hunter recently received the Betty Stein Award as the winner of the 2017 Fort Wayne Community Schools Middle School Persuasive Speech Contest. Other winners were: First runner-up, Fatima Alshaibani, Kekionga. Second runner-up: Bloison Lawee, Northwood. Other speakers were: Aiden Reinders, Blackhawk, Halie Nelson, Jefferson, Jacob Summins, Shawnee, Caitlin Dostal, Towles Intermediate School, Ethan Ferry, Lane, Ei Ei Pyo, Lakeside, and New Ni Hlaing, Miami.

* Three teams representing Bellmont High School and Norwell High School recently advanced to the 2017 National JA Titan Virtual Competition. Bellmont students Bryce Baumgartner and Josh Custer of “Team Harambe” out-manuevered 46 teams from across the country finishing in first place in the tournament and earning a $1,500 cash prize. Norwell students Kyle Murray and Alex Murray advanced to the championship game as well and finished in seventh place. Bellmont’s Kole Kelley and Lance Williamson also participated in the national competition.

* World Heritage International is seeking American families to host high school students from Eurasia. All the students have received scholarships through the U.S. State Department sponsored Future Leaders Exchange Program and will spend an academic year in the U.S. Visit <br>

<i> Email news to; fax: 461-8817; mail to The News-Sentinel/Neighbors, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne IN 46802. </i>