School news

<center>College </center><br>

* Quality Dining, Inc. has awarded 14 high school seniors with $14,000 in continuing education scholarships. Funds were raised through coupon sales in local Burger King Restaurants. The local $1,000 winners are John Soulliere, Angola High School; Max DiFilippo and Katherine Hill, Bishop Dwenger; Sean Smits and Elise Wellman, Canterbury; James Bassett, Carroll; Kalika Lacy, Columbia City; Erin Sukala, DeKalb; Paris Stream-Dau, East Allen University; Kayla Morse, East Noble; Sydni Fife, Huntington; Jacob Geesaman, Jay County; Araceli Flores, West Noble and Samantha Williams, Winchester Community.

* National Merit Scholarship Corp. recently announced the winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. The local area finalists are Nicholas A. Dye, DeKalb High School, Indiana University; Fort Wayne: Deborah Choe, Canterbury, University of Southern California; Shriya Rani Jain, Homestead, Indiana University; Kevin E. LaMaster, Bishop Dwenger, Purdue University; Audrey D. Scantlin, North Side, DePauw University; Andrew B. Zehr, Carroll, Purdue University; Zachery P. Berg, Goshen, Purdue University; and Lauren M. Orr, Warsaw Community High School, Purdue University. <br>

<center> Miscellaneous </center><br>

* The Association of Indiana Counties and STAR Financial Bank recently named Tristan Hamblin, third-grader at St. Paul’s Lutheran School as the National County Government Week essay contest winner for the AIC’s Northeast District. The theme was “Counties Moving Indiana Forward: Roads and Bridges are essential.”

* The following high school seniors recently graduated from the seminary program of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The graduates are Nathaniel Dauterman, Homestead, and Riley and Jackson Beam, both homeschooled. <br>

<i> Email School News to; fax: 461-8817; mail to The News-Sentinel/Neighbors, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne IN 46802. </i>