Fort Wayne Community Schools Superintendent Wendy Robinson selected area school superintendent of the year

Members of the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents (IAPSS) have selected Fort Wayne Community Schools Superintendent Wendy Robinson as the 2018 District II Superintendent of the Year, making her a candidate for 2018 Indiana Superintendent of the Year.

District II includes Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Huntington, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, St. Joseph and Whitley counties and portions of LaPorte County, a news release said. There are eight IAPSS districts in Indiana.

Winners are selected by other superintendents in their IAPSS district based on qualifications, accomplishments and instructional leadership during a time of limited resources, the news release said. Robinson also received the award in 2008.

An administrator with FWCS for more than 30 years, Robinson has served as an assistant principal, principal, area administrator, assistant superintendent and deputy superintendent before becoming superintendent in 2003, the news release said.

While maintaining a graduation rate of nearly 90 percent, FWCS has addressed school funding cutbacks by:

* Focusing spending on activities that support student achievement

* Taking part in lobbying and other activities at the state level to improve funding and strengthen academic programs

* Applying for federal and other grants to provide additional funding