3 named as finalists for retiring Allen Superior Judge Daniel G. Heath

Magistrate Michael Douglass (Photo courtesy of Allen Superior Court website)
Magistrate Daniel Pappas (Photo courtesy of Allen Superior Court website)
Magistrate Andrea Trevino (Photo courtesy of Allen Circuit Court website)
Allen Superior Judge Dan Heath (News-Sentinel.com file photo)

The Allen Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced three finalists to fill an upcoming judicial vacancy.

Allen Superior Judge Daniel G. Heath announced in October that he’ll retire Feb. 28 after 21 years on the bench when he’s 65. He has been an Allen Superior Court Civil Division judge since Jan. 1, 1997. In April 2013, when he transferred to the Family Relations Division after the retirement of Judge Stephen Sims.

The nominating commission selected the following finalists to replace Heath:

• Magistrate Michael Douglass, who has served in the Allen Superior Court Family Relations Division since February 2016. He serves at the Allen County Juvenile Center where he decides juvenile delinquency cases, child support enforcement, contested visitation and custody disputes in paternity cases, according to the court website.

• Magistrate Daniel Pappas, who was appointed to Allen Superior Court in November 2013. He previously was chief public defender of DeKalb County and a trial lawyer who primarily practiced in the areas of family, criminal defense, and personal injury law, according to the court website. He also has been an Allen County deputy prosecutor.

• Magistrate Andrea Trevino, who was appointed to Allen Circuit Court in August of 2013 by Judge Thomas J. Felts. She presides primarily over the Allen Circuit Court IV-D Division, which is child support enforcement, but also rotates and presides over the court’s criminal, civil, and family relations dockets, according to the court website. In November of 2013, she started a collaboration between the Allen Circuit Court and WorkOne of Northeast Indiana to provide employment, education, and vocational rehabilitation services to those who must pay child support.

The three finalists’ names will be submitted to Gov. Eric Holcomb, who has 60 days to make an appointment to the Allen Superior Court. Under state law, the commission must submit to the governor a list of three candidates with written evaluations of each candidate.

The commission publicly interviewed nine candidates Tuesday and Wednesday; one applicant withdrew from consideration.

The commission is made up of Holly Brady, Ben Eisbart, Angela Moellering, Paul Sturm, Mark Terrell, and Douglas Ulmer and is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David.