All-Northeast 8 Conference girls basketball teams announced

Norwell senior Logan Rowles shoots a free throw during a November 11, 2017 game against South Adams at Norwell. (Photo by Dan Vance of The News-Sentinel)
DeKalb senior Leigha Brown
Grace Hunter, Bellmont junior

The Northeast 8 Conference announced their girls basketball All-Conference teams on Monday as the Sectional round has completed with no conference teams advancing to Regional play.

Headlining the first team is DeKalb senior Leigha Brown, who will compete for a spot on the Indiana All-Star team after being a Junior all-star a year ago, Norwell senior Logan Rowles and Bellmont junior Grace Hunter. Each of the three were also All-NE8 one year ago.

Joining them on the first team are Norwell’s Aubrey Dunnuck and Brielle Wilson, Huntington North’s Rileigh Johnson and Madalyn Robrock, Columbia City’s Olivia Shearer, Leo’s Sophia Pierce and Bellmont’s Meghan Busick. Shearer and Busick, sophomores, are the only non seniors or juniors on the first team.

The All-NE8 second team consists of Norwell’s Breann Barger and Kaylee Fuelling, Huntington North’s Karmen Koch, Columbia City’s Carly Mabie, Leo’s Hannah Adams and Brooke Smith, Bellmont’s Emily Fuelling and Kenzie McMahon, East Noble’s Kara Kline and New Haven’s Sony Nard.

Receiving Honorable Mention in All-NE8 selections are Huntington North’s Hollyn Anderson, Leo’s McKenna Dietsch and Ashley Miller, Columbia City’s Grace Schrader and East Noble’s Avan Beiswanger, Karly Kirkpatrick and Corie Jones.

Norwell won the conference, going 7-0 in NE8 play. They were followed, in order, by Bellmont, Huntington North, Leo, Columbia City, DeKalb, East Noble and New Haven.