Baer Field Motorsports Park inducting four into Hall of Fame

As part of a full schedule of racing, Baer Field Motorsports Park is going to induct four men into his Hall of Fame on Saturday night.

The Hall of Fame inductions will include Chuck Mynett, Curtis Setser, Kenny Spillers and Dale Zent. The hall of fame was established in 1993.

Mynett started racing at Baer Field in 1970 in the hobby stock class. From 1972 through 1994 he raced late models and from 1978 to 1994 he raced sprint cars with Greg Krantz. He raced modifieds from 1995 through 2010 and was inducted into the Avilla Speedway Hall of Fame in 1995. An autoimmune condition known as Sarcoidosis led to a double lung transplant in 2015 and ended Mynett’s racing career.

Setser is the son of hall of fame member Cliff Setser and his sons Curtis, Cory and Shawn are also competing. He raced in mini stocks, street stocks, semi late models, late models, super lates and modifieds. He won the track title in the semi late model division in 1981. Some of his major wins included the 1981 Firecracker 50 and Bice Memorial and the 1982, 1983 and 1984 Old Fort 50/75 races. He has 26 career feature wins at Baer Field. He also competed in the E-Mod and ASA traveling series.

Beginning during the 1950s at Fort Wayne Speedway, Spillers was an owner, mechanic and engine builder, making the swap to motorcycles in the late 1970s. Teaching with his son K.C. Spillers in the late model/sportsman class, they won over 100 feature races and seven track championships. In the 1990s he transitioned to the IMCA Modified Tour and won the super nationals title. In 1992 he was inducted into the Avilla Speedway Hall of Fame. He passed away in 2015 at the age of 86.

Zent was around racing his whole life and became his brother Larry Zent’s mechanic in 1978. They won over 450 races and championships from Michigan to Florida. He was also the crew chief for several other drivers including Ed Cooper and Junior Hanley. When Zent retired, he built several street rods and traveled to various cruise-ins throughout Indiana. He passed away Jan. 24 at age 66.

Qualifying Saturday night starts at 4 p.m. with racing at 6 p.m.

Baer Field Motorsports Park Hall of Fame members

1993 – “Moose” Myers – Jim Stovall Sr. – Jack Reilley – Howard Rex

1994 – Bill Lipkey – Dave Sorg

1995 – Johnny Klotz – Dick Ladd

1996 – Jim Nusbaum – Ed Weisenauer

1997 – Larry Repine – Tommy Wible

1998 – Joe Bennett – Don Pruden

1999 – Les Sherman – Warren Howard

2000 – Eddie Sprinkle, Sr.

2001 – Neal Bordner

2002 – Bob Chase – Bill Mitchell – Art Terlosky

2003 – Joe Wallace

2004 – Frank Meyers

2005 – Al Cook Sr. – Paul Ladd

2006 – Dewayne Dimit – Roger Reinholt

2007 – Floyd Fehl – Rocky Fisher

2008 – Don Chevillet – Jim Stovall Jr.

2009 – Jim Amstutz – Scott Stovall

2010 – Jimmy Lambert – Hank Lower – Larry Zent

2011 – Jim Benson – Bobby Smith

2012 – Tom Barto – Cliff Setser – B.J. “Grumpy” Stuller

2013 – Bob Coe – Al Cook Jr. – Louise Stovall – Joe Wormcastle

2014 – Tom Isch

2015 – Steve Christman – Larry Harpe – Don Jones – Blaine Miller – Steve Minich, Sr.

2016 – Billy Cunningham – Lee Harpe – Mike Cline – Clarence Schmuck

2017 – Ron Dantzer Sr. – Sherrill Dimit – Terry Fisher Sr. – John Gatton Sr.