Sebring to host Mather Lecture Series sports panel Sunday

The News-Sentinel’s Blake Sebring will lead a hall of fame panel discussion of local sports journalists at 2 p.m. Sunday at The History Center, 302 E. Berry St. Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Hall of Fame members Reggie Hayes of The News-Sentinel, WKJG’s Kent Hormann and Ben Smith and Steve Warden from the Journal Gazette will speak on the recent announcement of Indiana’s All-Time Greatest Sports Stories as part of the George R. Mather Lecture Series. The event is free to the public and questions are welcome.

Born in Trenton, N.J., Mather came to Fort Wayne in 1971 to become First Presbyterian’s pastor until 1987. He became pastor of Third Presbyterian Church and helped that congregation merge in 1997 with Calvary Presbyterian to form the current Calvary Third United Presbyterian Church. Along with pastoral work, Mather probably is best known locally for his research on local history. His book “Frontier Faith: The Story of the Pioneer Congregations of Fort Wayne, Indiana 1820-1860” provided new and more-detailed information about early churches, historians said. <br>

<center> Carroll to battle Leo for FWHSA playoff championship </center><br>

The Carroll and Leo club hockey teams will face off at 7 p.m. Wednesday for the Fort Wayne High School Association playoff championship at the Parkview Ice House. Awards will go out for for top scorers, goaltenders and all-city teams prior to the game, and Bob Chase will be honored as this season’s honoree for the Memorial Cup prior to the start of the game. Previous honorees whose names are on the cup who have made significant contributions to Fort Wayne High School Hockey and youth hockey include Colin Lister, Kevin Weber, Roy Chin, Kent Freeby, Jim Pelletier, Mike Stuckey, and Mitzi Toepfer.

Carroll, 19-1, won the regular-season title, and Leo finished third with an 11-9 record.