Coliseum to host NCAA Tournaments 2020 women’s basketball regional will be here.

After hosting three NCAA Men’s Volleyball Tournaments, a Division III wrestling regional and a men’s hockey regional in the past, the Memorial Coliseum and IPFW announced Tuesday that Fort Wayne will be the site of a Women’s Basketball Regional in 2020.

Tuesday, the NCAA announced the host sites for all sports in three divisions from 2019 to 2022. In conjunction with Manchester University, Fort Wayne was also selected as site for the NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Final Four in 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022. Visit Fort Wayne and the Memorial Coliseum partnered with both local institutions to submit a total of 25 bids during the summer of 2016 for events taking place from 2019 to 2022.

“Fort Wayne has a proud tradition of basketball and hosting visitors, and these events will be excellent opportunities to expand our sports tourism resume,” said Visit Fort Wayne President Dan O’Connell in a news release.

Visit Fort Wayne estimates that the economic impact for the local community will be $1.2 million for the women’s basketball regional and $575,000 for each year of the Division III Final Four.

The women’s basketball regional will be held here March 27-30, 2020, with the winner advancing to the Women’s Final Four in New Orleans.

“This is a great day for the city and the university,” Fort Wayne Athletic Director Kelley Hartley Hutton said in the release. “I’m thankful for Visit Fort Wayne and the coliseum for their hard work on this successful bid. We are looking forward to creating a first class experience for visitors and student-athletes.”

Manchester’s successful bid process concludes what will be a 23-year stay in Salem, Va., at the end of next season for the Division III finals. The last time the Division III men’s basketball Final Four wasn’t in Salem was 1995, the year Manchester made a run to the national championship game in Buffalo, N.Y.

Fort Wayne’s previous history in hosting championship events include the National Collegiate Men’s Volleyball Championship in 1988, 1994 and 2000, and the Division I men’s hockey regional in 2010 and the NCAA Division III wrestling regional last February.