Decatur-area pastor elected as new president of the Indiana District of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod during district convention today in Fort Wayne

The Rev. Daniel J. Brege, 65, pastor of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Decatur, was elected on the second ballot this afternoon as the next president of the Indiana District of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.

Brege will succeed the Rev. Daniel May, who is retiring after 15 years as district president.

The Indiana District, which is headquartered in Fort Wayne, includes about 220 churches in Indiana and 20 churches in Kentucky.

The election took place during the district’s 2018 convention, which is taking place today and Friday at the Grand Wayne Convention Center in downtown Fort Wayne. Vice presidents will be elected during voting tomorrow morning.

Brege will assume his new duties as president on Sept. 9. He was one of five nominees for president, which included two pastors from Fort Wayne and Brege and another pastor from Decatur.

Each congregation can send one pastor and one layperson as voting delegates to the convention. Delegates also will vote to elect members of the district’s board and on a variety of proposed resolutions.

Brege has served as pastor of his congregation for 36 years.

He also has served as an Indiana District vice president from 2012 to the present, including his current role as first vice president.

His community work includes serving as pastoral adviser to Decatur Area Lutherans for Life from 1990 to the present and as a preacher for Worship Anew from 1998 to the present.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)