Moose Myers wins Fort Wayne Favorite auto racer poll

Moose Myers

In the tightest voting in any category yet, Conan “Moose” Myers won the Fort Wayne’s Favorite auto racing poll with 27.1 percent of the vote to edge Gene Hartley with 23.1 percent.

Larry Zent finished third with 10.9 percent to edge Scott Stovall with 10.6 percent.

A 10-time Indianapolis 500 starter from Roanoke, Hartley won the 1955 Milwaukee 200 and was the 1959 United States Auto Club National Midget Champion. His 33 career USAC Midgets wins ranks ninth all-time.

That wasn’t enough to beat Myers. The 1977 Automobile Racing Club of America champion and 1975 American Speed Association champion, he won his first track championship at Baer Field in 1966, and eventually won 14 titles at Baer Field, Avilla, New Bremen and Bryan speedways.

The Fort Wayne native started his career in 1961 at age 20, sharing a car with Tom Wible that was purchased for $275. In 1964, Myers began driving for Jim Stovall and began to dominate the local racing scene. He won his first track championship at Baer Field in 1966.

Wherever there was a good race in the Midwest, Myers was there. He won three Tony Bettenhausen Classics at Illiana Speedway in Schererville, and also won races in six states.

RELATED: Who are Fort Wayne’s Favorite… auto racers?

In 1973, Myers started competing in the American Speed Association, winning the series points championship in 1975. He also raced 10 years in the Automobile Racing Club of America series, winning the points title in 1977. He’s the only driver to win both the ASA and ARCA series championships. He also raced for 10 years in USAC, and many famous stock car racers, such as Harry Gant, Neil Bonnett, Donny and Bobby Allison and Buddy Baker, often came to Fort Wayne to challenge him.

Myers retired from racing in 1979 and lives in Newville. He was inducted into the Avilla Hall of Fame in 1985 and the Baer Field Hall of Fame in 1993.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)